Fashion Trends: Spring Darlings

I am officially comfortable enough to proclaim the arrival of Spring in England (I do suffer from an acute denial syndrome when it comes to the British weather). The rain and near-freezing temperatures have been tormenting my soul for the passed few weeks, but alas; the collections I have seen on the high street are pleasant enough to bring sunshine into  any woman’s wardrobe. Time to hang over my winter blues and run towards the rainbow; in style.

Fashion Weeks came and went.  A lot of enviable collections left me salivating but I was in awe at Elie Saab’s AW 2012 collection; probably one of  the most exciting ones to me.

When it comes to fashion, I prefer the minimalist look as it enables me to accessorise the clothes and add my own touches and personality to it. I also love structure, texture, delicacy and asymmetry. Saab combines all these elements into his designs; understanding the sensuality of a woman and translates this perfectly I could cry.

Here is a look at his Spring/ Summer 2012 collection.

The craftsmanship and attention to detail resonates through. From Swarovsky crystals, chiffon, silks, to sequins, embroidered lace, colour; there is nothing left out to prevent a lady from transitioning from Day-Wear-Sweetheart to Evening-Wear-Goddess in his clothes; highlighting that sometimes the ‘sticking to the seasonal colours’ rules are made to be broken.

Be In Trend

1. Tailoring:

          Reiss blazers: MARIS £195, TEAH £225

2. Asymmetrics & patterns:

I couldn’t help myself but to include Mary Katrantzou’s autaumn/ winter 2013 collection. Her eye catching pieces could be worn even in spring.  She has a seemingly innate ability to turn fabrics into works of art:

3. Lace, embroidery:

From left to right: Erdem, Julien Macdonald, Badgley Mischka, Temperley London

4. Colour blocking

5. White as snow… in Spring

6. Pastels:

7. Black and white:

Comments

