PIERRE BALMAIN Spring / Summer 2013

Photo: Designer Olivier Rousteing via Style.com

There are not many luxury brand names whose work I follow, so my reviews on collections will be a little discriminatory. The French couture house of Pierre Balmain is one of the few that I keep up with  religiously when I seek inspiration or when I want to know the latest trends, simply for its opulence. It combines my love for  architecture, design, detail and print  à la lettre.

The Balmain Spring/ Summer 2013 collection got me very excited. A time capsule; I felt as though I had been propelled back to the 90’s (even the 80’s at times; heck, allow me exaggerate and take it  as as far back as the baroque period!) : high wasted leather  trousers, exaggerated shoulder pads, oversized clashing prints and jewellery, weaving, embroidery, lace, all filled with grandeur and exhuberance.  Designer Olivier Rousteing encapsulated the  heritage of the brand’s strong  aesthetic succinctly.

The collection certainly oozes sex-appeal and power. With a ‘vintage-badass meets rock n’roll-princess’ feel to it, there is plenty to inspire a style-savvy female in this mouth-watering collection. Here are my favourite styles:

photo via fashionising.comphoto via style.com

photo via fashionising.com

photo via fashionising.com

Photo via style.com

photo via fashionising.com

photo via fashionising.com

https://noughtsnotcrosses.wordpress.com

photo via fasionising.com

photo via fashionising.com

balmain-details-spring-summer-2013-pfw16

photo via fashionising.com

_ON_2354.450x675

photo via style.com

  • To view the entire collection in images visit  Style.com by clicking here
  • For more detailed close-ups from the collection visit  Fashionising.com by clicking here
  • For all other haute-couture designers and their collections, I recommend runwaymagazine.tumblr.com

What do you think of the Balmain Spring/ Summer Ready-To-Wear collection? I do expect ZARA to be interpreting these designs at an affordable price very soon. Would you be incorporating any of these touches into your personal style this Spring / Summer?

xx

2 comments

  1. I love Balmain fashion!! I love the white blazer with the belt! Great post!

    http://www.platinumlovesblue.wordpress.com

    1. I agree, the white blazer should magically appear in my wardrobe though. 🙂

Comments

